Skip to main content

You are here:

Who we are

The National Patient Experience Survey is a partnership between the Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA), the Health Service Executive (HSE) and the Department of Health, with patient representatives providing their input at each stage of the programme.

Three governance groups have been created to oversee and advise on how the National Patient Experience Survey is carried out. The groups include representatives from each of the partner organisations alongside patient representatives.

The strength of the National Patient Experience Survey lies in the partnership approach that underpins it.

Steering group

Chair: Phelim Quinn (HIQA)

The steering group oversees the National Patient Experience Survey Programme and makes executive decisions. The group also includes a patient representative.

Project team group

Chair: Tracy O’Carroll (HIQA)

The project team group drives and provides stakeholder engagement with the partner organisations and across the healthcare sector.

National Patient Experience Survey team

The survey team based in HIQA manages and carries out the survey, analyses the findings and writes reports to communicate the results.

The Steering group

Phelim Quinn

Chief Executive, (Chair) (HIQA)

Rachel Flynn

Director of Health Information and Standards (HIQA)

Patrick Lynch

National Director, Quality Assurance and Verification (HSE)

Angela Fitzgerald

Deputy National Director,  Acute Operations (HSE)

Marita Kinsella

Director, National Patient Safety Office (Department of Health)

Liam Morris

Principal Officer, Acute Hospitals Division (Department of Health)

Brian Place

Patient Representative (Saolta Patient Council)

Louise Loughlin

National Manager (National Advocacy Service for People with Disabilities)

Roisin O’Leary

Women’s Representative,
Sage Advocacy